Rainy Day Essentials

Beauty, Books, Clippers, LUSH, Mario Badescu, Skin care, Tea

img_3068

April showers brings may flowers

Its officially spring and with that comes rainy days. I particularly have a love hate relationship them. I love the soothing sound of rain drops on my window and the instant sense of calm and comfort when one rolls around. However, with that, rainy days make me anything but productive since all I want to do is be bundled up in blankets with my favorite movie on. So, whether you have all day to lounge around or maybe just a few minuets these are some of my favorite rainy day essentials.

I was just recently been introduced to the “Wreck This Journal” books a few months ago by none other than my 10 year old sister. I had a moment of panic thinking she knew more about what “in” than I did but I was happily distracted by the awesomeness that was these books. I have one of the 8 total books by this author, Keri Smith. I can honestly say that you could spend a good portion of your day just letting your imagination run wild with this book. It has a multitude of out of the box activities to do from creating secret codes, to finding new ways to transport the book without using your hands. Almost everything can be done indoors give or take a few things and its the means to hours of amusing fun. Secondly, I picked up a book recently…yes from the young adult section don’t judge me…its called “Asylum” by Madeleine Roux. Its one of two books about a 16 year old boy named Dan Crawford who ends up being accepted into a prestigious program held during the summer. When Dan arrives he finds that the usual dormitories are closed down and now the program is placing students in near by dormitory that was also formerly psychiatric hospital. I haven’t read very far but what ensues I can only imagine is straight from a horror movie. What also had me freaked was ion several pages in the book there were real photographs from asylums featured. So if you’re in the mood to be a little scared on your rainy day this is perfect for to set the tone.

 

Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner by LUSH is a deliciously smelling in shower lotion that is perfect for those rainy days when you just want to pamper yourself. This LUSH product works just like a conditioner for your hair but for your body instead. After using a body wash (i.e shampoo) take a scoop of this rose infused conditioner and massage it into your skin as you would a normal lotion. Then simply wash it off, hop out of the shower and pat dry with a towel. A word of warning: the sensation is a slightly weird one. After washing the product off in the shower the argan oil from the conditioner have clung to your body leaving a somewhat greasy feeling. However, don’t let that dissuade from this product. Once you’ve gotten out of the shower and patted dry, your skin is left feeling incredibly moisturized and soft and not to mention smelling amazing!

 

Like I mentioned, on a rainy day sometimes I like to take the time while indoors to pamper myself. The Mario Badescu Almond and Honey non-abrasive face scrub doesn’t contain any harsh abrasive beads or chemicals but instead small bits of ground almond incorporated throughout the product. Also, the honey within this scrub is amazing on the skin as a natural antiseptic and moisturizer. Another perk is that this product can be used not only as a face scrub but you can also use it as a mask for 10-15 mins. On smell alone this scrub is absolutely delectable and not to mention I am a HUGE sucker of anything almond smelling, so this product has me hooked.

For me tea is an essential part of everyday but it’s especially a must for rainy days. A big cup of tea is like a big cup of comfort and relaxation. I like to sit down while I’m reading one of my books or even just to watch the rain fall outside and have something nice to sip. I am currently obsessed with this tea brand. I know it’s a UK based tea brand called Clippers but here in Germany, where I am currently, they call it Cuppers ( I don’t know why the name is changed but the packaging is the same…) Every time I’m in the store I’m always looking to see what flavor I should try next. Right now I’m loving Zen Balance. It’s and herbal blend with a mixture of lemongrass, ginkgo, and eucalyptus. The flavor is so unique and refreshing and instantly relaxes your mind and body.

 

 

So I hope you’ve enjoyed reading a few of my rainy day essentials. Feel free to comment with any essentials that are a must have for you!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

